Her name is Rio and she dances on the sand…

14 Jun

I´m alive! Even though I haven´t checked in for a while. Although, I have to say I am SURPRISED that I am alive, considering that I am in Rio, Brazil, and in the past 3 days have had ALL my worldly goods stolen from me (wallet, phone, computer, camera, ipod, glasses, diary, yada yada yada), been physically threatened by a taxi driver, and cut my knee and twisted my ankle with the result that I am hobbling around various conference centres with a crazed and zombified look in my eyes.

But no matter! I just popped in to tell you that the reason that I am in Rio is that I am tracking the UN Rio+20 Earth Summit negotiations along with the Adopt a Negotiator team. Please pop on over and see what we´re up to! I wrote a very cathartic first post which linked the stealing of my bag to climate change, so you can sneak a peek at that as well.

And apart from all the rubbishness, things are very nice. I am currently sitting in a hippy dream of a hostel in a lovely part of Rio called Santa Teresa. One of the hotel staff is playing a samba instrument called a cavaquinho (not unlike a ukelele…) while I tap away, and there are solar showers and beautiful, inventive things like this:

Well look at that. I think I just cheered myself up.

hanna ♥

4 Responses to “Her name is Rio and she dances on the sand…”

  1. jules1310 June 14, 2012 at 2:06 am #

    Love this blog :)

  2. SoundEagle July 13, 2012 at 9:37 am #

    Reblogged this on Potted Plant Society.

  3. Tami Stewart March 26, 2013 at 10:30 pm #

    Hi there – I would like permission to use this photo in a museum exhibit in San Francisco. If you are interested, please contact me. thanks!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

