4 Simple Goals (before 2011…..)

14 Aug

Part of my inspiration for starting a personal blog has been getting ridiculously into a few girl-bloggers over in the States, who blog about everything that I love – namely crafting, pretty things and enviable lives. One such blog is Elsie Flannigan’s A Beautiful Mess. She recently started up a “simple goals” project to complete before the end of the year, and I thought I’d jump on the bandwagon, especially as it would be good to have some small and achievable things in my head as I move cities and start afresh.

1. Learn to use my camera properly – My Dad got me an amazing digital camera a while ago for my birthday and although I’ve taken some wicked photos on it, I haven’t put the time in to ACTUALLY understanding how it works or making use of all the features, and so I’m not using it as much as I could. So I will be taking more photos!

2. Make a nice nest – I am moving to Brighton in T- 3 weeks. Arrrghhh. I have found a really lovely little flat which is a little eccentric and full of 70s furniture, and I think I can make it into a great little home and haven for myself. So I will be unleashing the decorating demon within. I will definitely be making this wall out of clipboards, inspired by another great blog, Smile and Wave.

3. Craft more – Last year, I made an online shop and crafted some incredibly cute (if I say so myself) plushies to sell and fundraise for my trip to the Copenhagen climate change conference. I got SO excited when I sold my first thing to a total stranger. Because I’ve been so busy this year though, I haven’t made time to craft at all really, and the shop stands sad and empty. That will change!

4. Wear lipstick – This is a stupid goal, but I like it. This year is going to be a lipstick year. I’m going to be walking around Brighton and people will turn and say “who’s that cool girl wearing lipstick”? Yep. That’s the idea anyway. What?

7 Responses to “4 Simple Goals (before 2011…..)”

  1. Sara August 14, 2010 at 8:06 pm #

    Good luck!
    And so, to hitch my applecart to your bandwagon, can i add mine? 1. Start blogging again, concentrating especially on the fiddly code-related bits. I always give up and resume stare admiringly at others’ 2. To carry on quilting, and to get better at it…

    • hannamade August 14, 2010 at 8:31 pm #

      Yes! Amazing, link your blog back here so we can see how it goes. And anyone else is welcome to add their goals too!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Super Sunday « hannamade - August 15, 2010

    […] In honour of number 2 on my 4 simple goals list I’ve been collecting inspiration for my new flat. I love this photo, apparently the sign cost […]

  2. Notting Hill Carnival « hannamade - August 30, 2010

    […] couple of weeks ago I laid out my 4 Simple Goals to achieve before the end of the year. Learning how to use my camera was goal number one! I dusted […]

  3. Flowers on a doomy day « hannamade - September 15, 2010

    […] I can’t wait to take pictures and show you all. I bought clipboards too as per goal 2 in my 4 Simple Goals […]

  4. 4 Simple Goals – mega update no.1 « hannamade - December 2, 2010

    […] the way back in August, I set myself 4 Simple Goals to complete before 2011 rolled around. I gave a little update in September, but it’s high […]

  5. 4 Simple Goals – mega updates no. 3 & 4 « hannamade - December 9, 2010

    […] Here are my last updates on the progress of my 4 Simple Goals! I have already updated on the lipstick-wearing and crafting, and my other two goals were to learn […]

Leave a Reply

