Craftivist Collective meeting – photos

23 Sep

As promised, here are the photos from the Craftivist Collective meeting from last Thursday, hosted at the lovely Paper Dress Vintage. Proof that I have been crafting! We were embroidering the names of women who have gone missing in Mexico, presumed dead. The authorities won’t investigate the disappearances of these women, so we were taking part in an art project designed to remember them and raise awareness.

I also need to show you all the ace action the group did to mark the beginning of London Fashion Week. They snuck inside Somerset House (where a lot of the shows go on) and put up this mini protest banner. C’est tres cool.

2 Responses to “Craftivist Collective meeting – photos”

  1. sara October 5, 2010 at 11:36 pm #

    Bobbins and anadnabyddus love! Serious, serious bobbins love. I remember making a ‘No blood for oil’ cross-stitch patch while in uni (i put it on my denim jacket), and everybody laughed. So I made one saying ‘I blame So Solid’ and some people laughed, but in a good way.
    I need to post a xxxstitch update on my tumblr – reached an impasse with the sampler but, inspired by bobbins (and craftivism), I will persevere!

    • hannamade October 6, 2010 at 11:44 pm #

      I think I might even remember the I blame so solid patch! how hilarious. yes definitely keep it up with the xstitching – knowing someone else is doing it will make me do it! x

Leave a Reply

