Super Sunday

26 Sep

1. This is Emmy the Great. Er… I LOVE HER. She makes lovely music. She wears big knitted things. She is half English, half Chinese (’tis all about the half asian invasion). And she is now a big fan of Climate Rush! I have heard on the grapevine that she is looking for a “climate action presence” at her gigs next year, so we might be climate suffragetting it up at an Emmy the Great gig near you. How bloody cool is that?

2. Frozen yoghurt and napping on the beach on sunny Wednesday was pretty super.

3. I was really moved by MummySam‘s craft project this week. She is sewing journal entries, expressing the feelings that come up in trying to raise a child with Asperger’s. Do read her blog about it here.

4. Here is a short video of me being a Green Dragon at the Wipe Out Waste Awards last week. There will be a longer video soon where we were all encouraged to look super scary and evil so I can’t wait for that one! The bit where I stand up and do a funny twizzle is where I am explaining that my jacket came from a charity shop!

5. I bought a typewriter. “Hipster idiot” you may be thinking but AHA you are wrong. For I have no illusions of typing away on this into the night (although Cormac McCarthy wrote all his novels using just such an Olivetti 32 so it can’t be half bad) but I am going to use it to make nice business cards and badges etc for my upcoming craft project. Plus it looks soooo pretty.

6. Ed Miliband is leader of the Labour party! I actually think that’s quite super. I wish we had less “career” politicians and more who had gained experience contributing to their community in some way, but I think he’s a nice guy, he listens and he’s always made time for us at the climate change conferences as UKYCC.

Funny anecdote – back in 2008 at the conference in Poznan,we had our first meeting with him (where he bought us all beer! Way to get the youth on side). He was 3 months into the job of Energy and Climate Change minister and seemed very unsure of himself. Obama had just been elected, and Ed lamented that we had no one in the UK like him. I said that the opportunity was there for him, the door was open and all he had to do was walk through it. He actually put his head in his hands (!) and said, “I know, I know. You’re right.” I don’t know if he would remember that exchange, but it’s funny to think that we were probably witnessing a slow realisation in him that he needed to step up.

7. I have been listening to She & Him: Volume Two on repeat for the last couple of months. You may have heard Zooey Deschanel’s silver tones before in that much lauded film, Elf. This is her folky two piece band and I rahlly like it.

hanna ♥

4 Responses to “Super Sunday”

  1. Ryan Bestford September 26, 2010 at 12:08 pm #

    Great to hear Emmy supports Climate Rush, another reason I’m pleased I took part in her fan funded next album project. Can’t wait for it to be released!

  2. cterkuile September 26, 2010 at 8:33 pm #

    You know Emmy is the sister of my sister’s friend. Yeah – massive claim to fame : )

    Also – totally forgot about that Ed M moment in Poznan!

    Cannot wait for final WOW video. Will be immense.

    • hannamade September 26, 2010 at 11:26 pm #

      Wow. This is an Emmy love-in. I want to fund her next album!! @cterkuile totally on edge of my seat for WOW video. ha.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Music Monday « hannamade - September 27, 2010

    […] Sep I am kind of enjoying the alliterative nature of Super Sundays, so I am going to have a crack at Music Mondays as well! Here are my recent […]

Leave a Reply

