Friends, countrymen – give me your dissertation suggestions!

26 Oct

So, it has to fit within the realm of Climate Change & Policy, but that’s about it. I have lots and lots of ideas which range from women in policy to green jobs to indigenous rights to social movements, but I’d love to hear from any of you who have an opinion on what needs research focus right now. So don’t be shy! I would really appreciate your thoughts.

Thank you!

hanna ♥

picture from leroyandthegirl

2 Responses to “Friends, countrymen – give me your dissertation suggestions!”

  1. kash October 27, 2010 at 7:24 pm #

    Hanna, I’m not sure what your degree is, but since you mentioned social movements and what needs rearching…

    I’m looking to get more people from lower income families and BME groups involved in climate change campaigning this year, bacially because I want to see a more diverse movement. But I’d be really interested to see why or if this is the case at the moment and if people from lower income families/BME groups compared to the rest of the UK Population, respond differently to climate change as an issue.

    • hannamade November 2, 2010 at 3:24 pm #

      Thanks Kash! What you’re talking about is a really good question. I thought long and hard about this last year, and it’s difficult, because I feel like we don’t even have on board those who have the time, inclination and money to care, so reaching those “harder-to-reach” groups is then made doubly hard. I think the response to the cuts might be one way in to that – that they are making lives harder and more expensive for those who already had it hard, when they should be investing in making our homes warmer and cheaper to run and public transport less expensive.

      Anyway, I will definitely take that on board as a suggestion. Other things I was thinking about were: women in climate policy-making; oil lobbyists and the tea party movement in the US; green jobs; the predicament of small island states in global negotiations; tar sands; the role of social movements in policy-making taking bolivia as an example.

      I am so unfocused! So much to do, so little time…

Leave a Reply

