Tomorrow is Pay Day!

17 Dec

Tomorrow at 12 noon, I am meeting the Brighton Uncut crew under the clock tower and then we’ll be off peacefully protesting against corporate tax dodgers on the high street. This will be my first anti-cuts protest, but I am prepared! I know the last Brighton cuts protest outside TopShop a couple of weeks ago resulted in protestors being kettled for 4 hours, so here is my list of what I’m taking:

  • Walking boots. Good ankle support for marching round and warm so my feet won’t get cold in the snow.
  • Water. But I will only drink this when severely dehydrated – there are no toilets in a kettle, y’know.
  • Biscuits! To eat and hand out and thus attract activisty friends like moths to a flame.
  • A sandwich. This is all for me.
  • A flip camera, so I can record amazing actions / passerby reactions / potential police brutality.
  • Clean hair. If you don’t have this you risk being seen as a hippy / crustie / social pariah by 95% of the population, whatever your cause. Sorry.
  • Lipstick, obviously. I’m on a protest darlings, not in prison (yet).
  • Phone so I can tweet! Follow me @hannathomas
  • Banner – I don’t actually have this, but in an ideal world I would!
  • A big smile. Yes, I am blimmin’ angry about the cuts. For me, it means jobs will be scarce when I graduate from my masters and that my brother, who is nearly 16, will have to pay up to eight times more than I did to go to uni. It also means that the young, unemployed people I work with at Otesha will find it even harder to find jobs or get any qualifications. Having said all this, my anger is directed at the government, not the people who are shopping or work at the stores. So I plan to be smiling at them and having some great conversations with them tomorrow.

Here is a video of the last protest in Brighton and if you’re looking for what’s going in your own town visit UK Uncut here.

13 Responses to “Tomorrow is Pay Day!”

  1. jane owen December 17, 2010 at 4:56 pm #

    Right behind you really like your approach on peaceful protest. I protested against the Poll Tax back in the day and special school closures, feeling my age lately so don’t think could stand for too long in cold but very appreciative of all of you who are willing to.

  2. welshleek December 17, 2010 at 5:07 pm #

    Hope you have a good day tomorrow.Stay safe

    • hannamade December 17, 2010 at 5:09 pm #

      Can I just say how nice it is to have these encouraging comments? Thank you!

  3. Pam Nash December 17, 2010 at 5:14 pm #

    I’m fascinated by this. You’re angry about the cuts, so, presumably, would rather have none; it therefore follows that you would rather have the country go bankrupt. Really, the choice is THAT stark.

    • hannamade December 17, 2010 at 5:23 pm #

      Boo. I knew the encouragement couldn’t last. Pam – it’s not that I’d rather have no cuts at all, it’s the incredible scale of the cuts which I believe to be ideological rather than practical, and which I think will have terrible consequences. Also, the protests are about corporate tax dodgers paying their tax. Do you not agree with that? Because Vodafone dodged £6 billion this year. I’d suggest we’d be in a less sticky financial situation all round if those who benefited most paid what they owe.

      Anyway, do watch this video, it’s very good – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FmsjGys-VqA&feature=player_embedded

      And visit the False Economy website – http://falseeconomy.org.uk/

      Thanks for your comment anyway.

      • Pam Nash December 17, 2010 at 5:38 pm #

        You’re very reasonable – but many aren’t and seem to lose their mental faculties on these protests, with the result that the costs of them, in policing and damage terms, are actually exacerbating the very financial issue they’re trying to highlight. Disrupting shoppers on the last Saturday before Xmas, the only time when many of those tax-paying shoppers who work during the week CAN shop, risks alienating the very people whose support you’re trying to enlist. Has anyone really thought this choice of date through?

    • russ December 17, 2010 at 5:29 pm #

      Comments such as yours Pam just have to be responded to. i don’t know whether you are uninformed or just for the cuts from an idealogical perspective but there are many many reasons why your statement is incorrect. One of the key points of these demos is that if big business paid the same proportion of tax as the man on the street (remember we’re all in this together?) then there would be no need for cuts. The Con government want to make the cuts. The ‘deficit’ is a nice excuse. Educate yourself – all the info is out there.

      http://falseeconomy.org.uk/
      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Shock_Doctrine

      • Pam Nash December 17, 2010 at 5:55 pm #

        Russ – I am educated. Possibly, who knows, to a higher degree than you. Telling someone who disagrees with you to ‘educate yourself’ is, at best, hostile and patronising.

    • Craig Wood December 17, 2010 at 6:02 pm #

      That’s a hell of a false binary.

      • Craig Wood December 17, 2010 at 6:03 pm #

        “I’m fascinated by this. You’re angry about the cuts, so, presumably, would rather have none; it therefore follows that you would rather have the country go bankrupt. Really, the choice is THAT stark.”

  4. danielle December 17, 2010 at 5:43 pm #

    Best of luck for tomorrow.

    The cuts are about the dismantling of the Welfare State – because the existence of free education, healthcare and a benefit safety net are all an abomination to the Tories.

    If there’s enough money for MP expenses, banker’s bonuses and letting Mr G not pay his tax bill then the country isn’t that broke.

  5. jane owen December 17, 2010 at 6:21 pm #

    I feel very stongly that the ‘cuts’ are just a thinly disguised excuse to dismantle the services that support those who are less able – for a multitude and huge variety of reasons. The welfare state is a magnificent creation and one needs to look at the country before it’s creation and possibly talk to people who lived in that time to understand it’s uniqueness. The issue with tax avoidance should be out in the open as it highlights the huge inequalitites in society. Whilst those at the bottom end are being deprived of a fair and decent quality of life, the laws that enable some to avoid paying tax by fair means or foul need and must be addressed. I fear that the consequences for our democratic society of which we should all be proud will be far reaching and very damaging if this government is allowed to destroy our infra-structure under the guise of ‘necessary’ cuts.

Leave a Reply

