Craftivism Against Cuts

17 Feb

I AM SO SAD. I bought a new kitchen knife yesterday and managed to slice nicely through my knuckle just getting it out of the packet! It’s all bandaged up now but still, I can’t do all the fun things I wanted to this week, like sewing, playing my new ukelele (!), and riding my bike. Sob.

So, since I can’t sew, I thought I’d make myself feel productive by showing you what I have been sewing over this week – mini protest hearts against the cuts!

Warning: the slogans on these are very much tongue-in-cheek but could be seen as offensive! So if you like your crafts cuddly, proceed with caution…

I would never put slogans like this on a placard, but I thought the pretty colours and floral fabrics made a nice juxtaposition that meant I could get away with it!

This is the back of the “no cuts” heart. Geddit?

I’m really pleased with them. I can’t decide whether to put them in my shop, or hang them around Brighton for people to see! What do you think?

hanna ♥

p.s. woot woot to the forest news!

3 Responses to “Craftivism Against Cuts”

  1. Anna February 18, 2011 at 9:56 am #

    Leave em round Brighton 🙂

  2. Hannah February 21, 2011 at 1:45 pm #

    Nice idea! They’re cute, but also make a great point about the effect that cuts are going to have on the creative arts and the humanities. Hang them around Brighton, but I do wonder if there is some way you could use this as a theme for a bigger campaign? Or maybe just your next placard.

    I’ve been exploring your blog, you might have noticed. I think I will subscribe. Keep up the good work!

    • hannamade February 21, 2011 at 10:07 pm #

      Thanks for your comments Hannah! Yes, I think I’m going to make a few more and then sneak them round Brighton… mwah ha ha.

Leave a Reply

