Keep Hoping Machine Running

4 Mar

It’s two months into 2011! I can’t believe it. I can’t believe my term ends in 3 weeks and then the next thing you know, I’ll have done my dissertation and be graduated. How time flies…

I thought now would be a good time to see how I’m doing on those new year’s resolutions, since now is around the time I’d usually give up on them. They were:

  • Drink more raspberry bellinis. – Done! Tick!
  • Get back on the bike and get fit fit fit. – I have got back on my bike with a vengeance and have the calf muscles to prove it!
  • Have a fun holiday. – I’ll report back on that in a month…
  • Find a full-time job I love (that works on climate change) after I graduate. – Not graduated yet, but certainly making some progress on carving out some very exciting freelance work for myself…
  • Make more short-term schedules and less long-term plans. – I think I’m doing good on this, since I have, well, no long-term plans at all at this moment in time…
  • Generally go with the flow and have a fabulous year! – And I’m doing pretty well on this too! 2011 so far has not been too shoddy. It’s been pretty lovely actually!

Hope your resolutions (if you made them) are going well. I’m going to leave you with Woody Guthrie‘s resolutions from way back when in 1942. They’re pretty great. My particular favourite is “wash teeth if any”. A resolution for all of us.

  1. Work more and better
  2. Work by a schedule
  3. wash teeth if any
  4. shave
  5. take bath
  6. eat good – fruit – vegetables – milk
  7. drink very scant if any
  8. write a song a day
  9. wear clean clothes – look good
  10. Shine shoes
  11. Change socks
  12. Change bed clothes often
  13. Read lots good books
  14. Listen to radio a lot
  15. Learn people better
  16. Keep rancho clean
  17. Don’t get lonesome
  18. Stay glad
  19. Keep hoping machine running
  20. Dream good
  21. Bank all extra money
  22. Save Dough
  23. Have company but don’t waste time
  24. Send Mary and kids money
  25. Play and sing good
  26. Dance Better
  27. Hep win war – beat fascism
  28. Love Mama
  29. Love Papa
  30. Love Pete
  31. Love Everybody
  32. Make up your mind
  33. Wake up and Fight

hanna ♥

Leave a Reply

