Super Sunday

8 May

I’m baaack. Essays are in and life is practically SNAIL-LIKE in comparison to my recent travels. So it’s lucky I have so many things saved up to blog about. First up, Super Sunday.

1. Hasn’t the weather been glorious? Spent a lovely day on Brighton beach last weekend with some friends. I think summer in Brighton is going to be grand.

2. These girls do a mean acapella cover of Beyonce’s new single.

3. Nutella pancakes. That is all.

4.  I spent a large chunk of this weekend in bed with this book that’s been sitting on my shelf for a few months. It won the Bellwether Prize, founded by Barbara Kingsolver to recognise “A Literature for Social Change”. Set in 1980s Portland, this book tells the story of a mixed race African American / Danish girl with blue eyes. Well worth a read.

5. I am eleventy billion years late to this, but I started listening to the This American Life podcast this week and it’s SO GOOD. But you probably know that.

6. Great, funny TED talk by spoken word poet Sarah Kay. (p.s. she’s half japanese! with curly hair! clearly all the best people are.)

7. I was sent this poem this week by a friend, after we’d had a long group discussion about social change and leadership. It’s by Rainer Maria Rilke and I LOVE.

My eyes already touch the sunny hill,

going far ahead of the road I have begun.

So we are grasped by what we cannot grasp;

it has its inner light, even from a distance.

and changes us, even if we do not reach it,

into something else, which, hardly sensing it,

we already are;

a gesture waves us on, answering our own wave…

but what we feel is the wind in our faces.

Leave a Reply

