Kiki de Montparnasse

7 Sep

Oh I know. I have been terribly awol. Inconsistency is apparently the worst blogging trait, but I simply cannot help it at the moment! I hand in my dissertation on Monday, and then normal service shall resume! I have missed my Sundays being super. In the meantime, I did want to tell you about a brilliant graphic novel I’ve just read, which tells the story of the brilliantly glamorous and tragic French muse, Kiki de Montparnasse.

The novel (by Catel & Bocquet) is just so enjoyable and fun, and I learnt so much about the relationships between the artists of the age. At one point, it depicts a massive punch-up between Dadaists and Surrealists in a Paris theatre. Can you imagine any artists today caring so much about their artistic movement that they physically fight each other for it? If only! You know what I mean.

hanna  ♥

One Response to “Kiki de Montparnasse”

  1. mymatejoechip September 17, 2011 at 9:43 am #

    Damn those surrealists!!

Leave a Reply

