Super Sunday (on a Monday)

17 Oct

It’s Monday but I have a good excuse – I just got back from New York! I know I have to go into a corner and think about my carbon footprint, but before I do that, I’ll tell you that I was there to contribute to the Global Transition Dialogue 2012, which was coordinated by Stakeholder Forum and nef. Very interesting, longer blog post on that to follow. Until then…

1. I went down to the Occupy Wall Street protests while in NY and it was so inspiring, can’t wait to check out what’s going on at the Stock Exchange. It was ordered chaos – makeshift kitchens, information and recycling points; a speakers corner where people took turns with an amplifier; people hashing out opinions and arguments with people they’d never met; drumming and tshirt making. My favourite sign was the girl’s above which says. ‘The point is it isn’t working and we need a space to talk about it.’ I think these protests are doing an amazing of creating that space.

“…I knew what I loved. I loved to read; I loved to listen to music; and I love cats. Those three things. So, even though I was an only kid, I could be happy because I knew what I loved. Those three things haven’t changed from my childhood. I know what I love, still, now. That’s a confidence. If you don’t know what you love, you are lost.”

2. Excerpt from a great interview with Haruki Murakami in the Guardian.

3. Street artist Pablo Delgado put up a new piece of his miniature work on our office building last week! I love his other stuff too, especially the shadows all his figures cast.

4. It’s pretty super having friends in far flung places! Stayed with a friend in NY and met up with another three while I was there! Brunch in Brooklyn and strolls around Central Park and the Met, all in fine company.

5. I’ve been introduced to the world of American biscuits (kind of like a scone) and I don’t think I can look back. So good. Picture from kate / for me, for you, but a damn good approximation of what I actually ate. Yummers.

6. Only just seen this excellent photo from 2009 of Obama posing with Zapatero, the Spanish president, and his goth daughters. Hilarious.

7. Saw the new Woody Allen film, Midnight in Paris, on the plane. Really good, and so many good cameos from amazing actors. Corey Stoll as Ernest Hemingway and Adrien Brody as Dali are especially brilliant.

hanna ♥

Leave a Reply

