Super Sunday

23 Oct

1. Loving Rihanna’s new video.

There are the occasions that men—intellectual men, clever men, engaged men—insist on playing devil’s advocate, desirous of a debate on some aspect of feminist theory or reproductive rights or some other subject generally filed under the heading: Women’s Issues. These intellectual, clever, engaged men want to endlessly probe my argument for weaknesses, want to wrestle over details, want to argue just for fun—and they wonder, these intellectual, clever, engaged men, why my voice keeps raising and why my face is flushed and why, after an hour of fighting my corner, hot tears burn the corners of my eyes. Why do you have to take this stuff so personally? ask the intellectual, clever, and engaged men, who have never considered that the content of the abstract exercise that’s so much fun for them is the stuff of my life.

2. I read this blog post and it really resonated.

3. I spent a quality evening with my sister watching a hilariously terrible musical, eating dessert and chatting about life (read: boys). I also made her the most epic (if I say so myself) break-up mix. Here’s the playlist:

Eat Shit and Die – Margaret Cho
Canopies and Drapes – Emmy the Great
Broken Broken Broken Heart – Jeffrey Lewis
You Oughta Know – Alanis Morissette
Take a Bow – Glee Cast
Do It Like A Dude – Jessie J
Dickhead – Kate Nash
You Don’t Own Me – Lesley Gore
I Think I Need a New Heart – Magnetic Fields
In the Morning – Nina Simone
You Think You’re a Man – The Vaselines
When I Was Single – Peggy Seeger
Gonna Get Along Without You Now – She & Him
Better Off Without You – Summer Camp

4. After my adventures at Occupy Wall Street, I went down to Occupy London Stock Exchange on Thursday! It was amazing, lots of stuff going on, incredibly organised and good-natured. I have to say though, and this is just my personal impression, that it didn’t seem as ‘buzzy’ or spontaneous as Occupy Wall Street. It was very reminiscent of Climate Camp, where meetings and working groups materialise with military precision. Occupy Wall Street felt more chaotic, and in a sense, more authentic. It made me think about whether at some point, organising needs to give way to spontaneity, otherwise we might end up missing the moment that enables change. The revolution, I suppose. This article at Colorlines talks along similar lines – Occupying, Organizing and the Movements That Demand Both.

5. This is my favourite picture of Devon Aoki. Very beautiful lady.

6. All my talk of girl gangs seems to be working… I’ve recruited at least 4 of my friends into one so far. Not sure what our remit is yet, but we’re discussing matching jackets…!

7. Taking into account these super things, I must admit that most of this week has been a real chore and so tiring! I’m packing to move house next week so I am currently surrounded in my tiny flat by many, MANY boxes that I have stolen out of various neighbours’ recycling bins (reduce, reuse, recycle people!). All the little things that I love, all my pictures and books, are packed away! SOB. I can’t wait to be all set up in my awesome new house in London! It can’t come quickly enough! Picture from weheartit

hanna ♥

Leave a Reply

