Bye bye 2011, you’ve been grand

29 Dec

hiiiii! I hope everyone reading this had a lovely christmas. mine was very nice and chilled and I’m still bumming round my family’s house like I’m a teenager. I thought I’d take some time to recap this year before launching into the next one, and just absorb and appreciate the fact that this year was pretty much the best of my life, after a couple of rocky ones. Yay! I have had so much loveliness happen this year, and I am so grateful. So I’m feeling really mushy, and like, totally universal or something.

ANYWAY. Please indulge me whilst I recap my best memories from 2011:

– I had some amazing opportunities to travel this year, so I am a very lucky girl. I visited San Francisco in April for a couple of weeks and it was the BEST PLACE EVER. It is still my long-term dreeeaaam to move there one day. Cycling over the Golden Gate Bridge, wandering through the camellia gardens in Golden Gate park, photographing street art in the Mission, sing-a-long Wizard of Oz in the Castro, couch-surfing with the two best girls ever, meeting some super cute and amazing new friends, getting inspired by all the great green jobs work going on out there. It was just the best experience. I also had a couple of crazy / hilarious / sister-bonding / romantic trips to Paris which were incredible and filled with croissants, break-dancing, vintage shopping, and cocktails at the Ritz. Totes amaze.

– This year I also learned to love my own company. Even though I am now happily sharing with two lovely girls in London, living on my own in Brighton while I was doing my masters was one of the best choices I have ever made. I made a little haven for myself, indulged my love for baking, played music loud and danced around my living room. I was a pretty good roomie for myself, I have to say.

– I did a masters! In SCIENCE! I still find that hilarious. It was tough-going at times, but I’m proud of myself.

– The path my professional life has taken has been surprising and amazing this year. I could not have imagined at the beginning of the year where I would be now, back at The Otesha Project UK, leading on the East London Green Jobs Alliance. I have met some brilliant people and gained some excellent mentors. I got to speak at Glastonbury in the Leftfield tent (!! personal highlight), was an SMK Campaigner award finalist, and was a contributing author on an IPPR report. It’s been blimmin’ incredible. It also leaves me feeling absolutely terrified at following it all through next year, but you know, 2012 can deal with that one!

– I made some excellent make-up discoveries which I think deserve a mention – shu uemura eyelash curlers (SERIOUSLY), benefit eyebrow zings, mac lipsticks, lucas pawpaw ointment. If you’re into that stuff, get on it.

– I went on some excellent global protests! An anti-nuclear demo in Tokyo (most kawaii protest ever), pro-union protest in San Fran, Occupy Wall Street, Occupy London Stock Exchange, and to round it all off, the Fawcett Society anti-cuts march which ended with a pic of me and my sister in the Observer!

– But nothing, NOTHING, compares to seeing Beyonce live at Glastonbury, only 2 people from the front barrier. I almost died. In fact, I’m dead. (Mountain Goats in Brighton were also amaze).

This year was too good.

Resolutions will come all in good time, but for now, I’m just basking in the glow that was 2011.

3 Responses to “Bye bye 2011, you’ve been grand”

  1. Cami January 3, 2012 at 1:06 am #

    San Francisco and Paris are two of my favorite cities! Reading your post made me want to bike across the Golden Gate Bridge this very moment.
    When I travel I also avoid hotels – usually stay with friends or with a site called Tripping.com.
    Hope your 2012 is as cool as this year!
    And thanks for the tip on the shu uemura eyelash curlers.

  2. jay January 29, 2012 at 6:07 am #

    hhi dear i kike ur blog u r so much creative/jolly type of girl…………thank u

Leave a Reply

