DIY Scalloped hem skirt tutorial (for lazy people)

31 Jan

Well hi there. I have never done a tutorial-type thing before, but I was doing this anyway, so thought some photos and tips might be useful for any other gals (or guys) out there who are also partial to a scalloped hem (who isn’t?).

This is definitely for lazy people. If you want to actually HEM your hem, there are tons of instructions out there to help you do that. Also, if you want to know how to make your scallops even, or measure it out or what-have-you – I can’t help you. I didn’t get out a measuring tape. But if you’re a lazy seamtress and still on board, let’s go!

1. Get a skirt. Preferably an old one. I picked this up at the Rokit vintage store on Brick Lane for two pounds! TWO POUNDS!

2. Get something round. The size of it will determine how big your scallops are, so have a little ponder about that. Turn your skirt inside out, and draw around your round thing (I used the top of a tin) with a pencil. Or, if you’re being fancy (and correct), keep your skirt the right way round and use tailor’s chalk. See if I care…

You can make your circles overlap as much as you want, depending on how deep you want the gaps to be between your scallops. I didn’t measure anything, I just guessed, which to be honest was a risky game, because I had no idea if I was going to end up with half a scallop by the time I’d got round drawing the whole skirt. Luckily, I didn’t! So… yeah, you could measure, or you could live life on the edge like me and just hope for the best.

3. Okay! Now get your machine and set it to a tight zig zag stitch. My machine had length set to 0, and width to 5, because we want the stitches really close. I also made my top thread and bobbin thread the same colour to keep it neat, and also because I was stitching on the wrong side of the skirt remember…

Matching the thread to the material will also do you many favours in masking any less-than-perfect stitching you do. Stitch along all your pencil / chalk lines, all the way round your skirt.

4. We’re almost done! Take some fabric scissors and snip all the way round your skirt, close to the stitching, but not so close you cut a thread. Because then the whole bloody thing will unravel.

5. Wear it! Feel smug that you made a pretty thing with minimal effort.

You can also feel happy.

Or pretend you’re Kim Kardashian.

I leave that up to you.

hanna ♥

6 Responses to “DIY Scalloped hem skirt tutorial (for lazy people)”

  1. gracefully50 February 1, 2012 at 2:53 am #

    That turned out really well! How cute! Only if I could sew…

  2. Mary Sane February 1, 2012 at 11:10 am #

    Super cute!

  3. Crystal R May 28, 2014 at 10:28 pm #

    I’m about to give it a try on a store bought dress pattern that I want to personalize. So wish me luck. This will be my first attempt to make scallops but your instructions make it seem really easy. Thanks for the tutorial!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. DIY Scalloped Hem for Shorts and Skirts | I Make It You Make It - April 8, 2012

    […] Scalloped Hem for Lazy People by Hannamade […]

  2. DIY Scalloped Hem for Skirts, Dresses and Shorts « I Make It You Make It - August 31, 2013

    […] Sewn Quick Scalloped Edge (no hem) by Hanna Made No Sew Scalloped Edge Shorts by Candi Mandi […]

Leave a Reply

